Response to Fatherhood and Conservatism

Mike Dwyer at Ordinary Times has published a thorough response to my previous piece on fatherhood and conservatism. Here is just a bit:

I greatly enjoyed the essay from guest author Roland Dodds and admired his honesty in explaining how parenthood has affected his political leanings. In the grand tradition of Ordinary Times and the League before it, a thoughtful response seemed fitting.

My own swing towards conservatism occurred right around my oldest daughter’s second birthday, though I’m not sure if the two events can be fairly linked. While I have told the story of becoming a pro-lifer on the day she was born, my overall politics remained firmly left-leaning.Then I had a falling out at my union job, began to see the ills of misguided social policy, Clinton lied under oath and I decided it was time for me to part ways with the Democratic party.

For nearly 20 years I was a devout Republican, finding myself agreeing with their concerns about the rapid pace of change in American society and worrying what kind of world my daughters would grow up in. I became fond of saying that the Right was a place for fathers who only wanted to keep their children safe and it is in remembering that compulsion that I found Roland’s post so interesting.

Read it all here.

(Image: Venetian family fresco)

Leave a Reply

